/  /  / Profile Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann

Profile Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann, Chief Executive Officer
Image of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann

Jörg Fuhrmann, born in 1956, nationality german, studied metallurgy at RWTH Aachen University. He subsequently took a position as a research assistant at the Betriebsforschungsinstitut des Vereins Deutscher Eisenhüttenleute (VDEh), the German Steel Institute’s research and development company, and completed a degree in economics.

He began his industrial career in 1983 in the industrial management department of Klöckner-Werke AG. Fuhrmann became head of Klöckner-Werke’s Corporate Strategy in 1986 and head of the Central Department Processing / Technical Organization in 1990. In the same year, he was awarded a PhD with distinction from the Technische Universität Berlin.

From 1992 onwards, he managed the Central Departments of Mechanical Engineering, and later of Controlling, in the position of Director. He was appointed as Commercial Director of the Klöckner Group’s subsidiary Peguform-Werke GmbH in 1994.

Jörg Fuhrmann joined Preussag Stahl AG from which the Salzgitter Group was formed in 1998. Acting initially as Executive Manager and tasked with leading the Central Planning, he became an associate  member of the Group’s Executive Board in 1996, and full member in 1997. In the years from 2001 to 2011, Fuhrmann was Chief Financial Officer. From 2007 onwards, he was appointed Vice Chairman of the Executive Board and assumed responsibility for the newly-formed Technology Division. In addition, he led the Steel Division as interim head in 2013. Jörg Fuhrmann has been Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Executive Board of Salzgitter AG since 2011. Since 2003 he has served as visiting lecturer at RWTH Aachen University, which made him an Honorary Professor in 2008.

Prof. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann has been a member of the Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft since January 1, 2014. On January 1, 2016, he assumed the position of Chairman of the Senate. 

Back to top.